Divergent – May’s Book Club Title

Divergent by Veronica Roth is our May 19th book club book. Have you read it yet? Yes, it’s ANOTHER dystopia, but it truly is a great read. Whenever a fan of The Hunger Games comes in looking for a good book, I steer them toward Divergent. So far, everyone that’s returned has gushed about how much they loved it!

It’s not exactly like The Hunger Games, and I think that’s a good thing. It’s not a literary masterpiece by any means, but I feel that it has a nice blend of character development and action. I found it to be a thoroughly engaging read. Check out this review from The Guardian to find out more.

The second book in the trilogy, Insurgent, was released on May 1st, 2012. I’ve read that it’s even better than the first book. I’m eagerly anticipating my hold becoming available at the library, so that I can devour it! If you’ve already read it, please no spoilers.

Also, can you believe that Roth is only 23! That means that she was 21 when she began writing Divergent. I’m feeling a little unaccomplished over here…. She has her own blog, and her most recent posts show her modeling the types of outfits that she envisions the five different factions might wear. Cool!

Anyway, there’s still time to sign up for Teen. Book. Club. I have one copy of Divergent waiting to be checked out, so contact me if you want it to be yours!

This entry was posted in YA Literature. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Divergent – May’s Book Club Title

  1. Pingback: YALSA’s TEEN’S TOP TEN | Interactive. Media. Teen. Book. Club.

Leave a Reply

